esthergoodchild

I didn't go with him

A Fond Reunion

on May 6, 2014

At the end of last week my sister and niece said they would like to get back in touch after a considerable gap of time and it was lovely to see them although also fairly stilted and superficial in a being strong kind of way. Being a single mum they were a big part of family life for many years, although we differ on parenting styles and incomes and so live completely different ways of life. Even so we really need each other and ought to have made the effort before. They came round unexpectedly on a different day and so I didn’t give them tea which later I felt I regretted, but their visit was at least a start and they saw my autistic son’s, S’s, fantastic collages that he did when home schooled.

Saturday’s moment of joy was when I escaped from my semi to travel to meet with some people who have similar interests in being peacemakers. However, it was not the peaceful peacemakers but a friendly well-tattooed young father and his partner picnicking on the moors who staved off a severe panic in me by assisting me out of a muddy patch and directing me away from potholes and ruts in the track whilst turning the car. The sun beat down and the loving thy neighbour was simplified and facilitated by the care and compassion I was feeling after a prayerful time. If it hadn’t been for them I might still be there now.

Sunday was a lovely church service with some hopeful words from the minister. The feedback from the choir members about my singing was nice to hear as I am new and don’t know the tunes as well as the others yet. They were positive, and the hymns were thoughtful and inspirational.

Then I almost completed the complex Sudoku from Saturday’s paper except for a couple of dodgy eights and nines after a long lie in on Bank Holiday Monday.

In recent months I have been struggling but today’s letter writing and response to emails has been easier and calmer which gives me hope that my opinions might be heard.

Greatest moment of joy this week was sharing a film with my autistic son, S, who now has a telly in his room. He appears to be slightly happier there at present.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

One response to “A Fond Reunion

  1. Lakes Mum says:

    So glad you had time with your family we sometimes have to work hardest with our nearest and dearest! Those strangers sounded so helpful. Lovely to have compliments. Great news on your son’s happiness too. Thanks for joining in

Leave a Reply

